Hannah G Solomon Award Event


Ina Weber Davis -2021 Recipient

To watch the video from this event, CLICK HERE

It is with great pleasure that we announce Ina Weber Davis as the 2021 Hannah G. Solomon honoree!  This is the most prestigious award conferred by NCJW, going to an individual who has brought about important programs and services through their leadership in a volunteer capacity, are known for their interest, activity and stands on issues with which NCJW is in sympathy, and has been a catalyst for social change.  Ina exemplifies all these ideals.

On January 26, 2021,  NCJW came together on Zoom to celebrate our newest Hannah Solomon honoree, Ina Weber Davis.
Almost immediately upon moving to New Orleans in 1997, Ina joined NCJW and started volunteering as a tutor in a local school. After serving as Vice President of Public Affairs, Ina assumed the presidency of NCJW in 2007 when the organization, and indeed the entire region, faced nearly insurmountable challenges.  Committing to a double term as president, Ina held the Section together throughout those difficult years.

Ina has served on the National Board of NCJW, coordinating a State Policy Advocacy Network across the country.  She has been actively involved with the NCJW Way program, inspiring and mentoring many young women leaders.

Ina is also the founder and co-chair of Louisiana Courts Matter, and she continues to be the NCJW representative to the National Courts Matter Coalition, which promotes a federal judiciary that is fair and independent.

In addition to NCJW, several other Jewish organizations have benefitted from Ina’s leadership.  They include ADL, Tulane Hillel, and the Jewish Endowment Foundation.  Currently she is co-chairing the Jewish Federation’s newly created Goldring Family Foundation Center for Jewish-Multicultural Affairs.

In the broader community, Ina has served on many boards and committees.  She worked extensively with the Public Library on a number of initiatives.  She is on the Board of VIA LINK, an organization committed to crisis intervention, which Ina passionately supports.

Ina manages to make volunteering fun and interesting.  She exemplifies the traits required for the Hannah G. Solomon award.  As NCJW president Susan Hess said, “Hannah would approve!”

Vivian Cahn chaired this year’s HGS event.  Committee members included Ana Gershanik, Cathy Glaser, Susan Hess, Susie Jernigan, Barbara Kaplinsky, and Rollie Rabin.

 If you would like to make a donation to honor Ina, please use the following link: