Note:For Fox8 Defenders questions and concerns,
 please contact us at either 877-670-6397 or 504-485-NEWS(6397) only.
Do not call our NCJW administrative office.

Office Hours
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday 10am - 3:30pm

State-wide Run-off Election Saturday, November18, 2017

By clicking here

National Council of Jewish Women, Greater New Orleans Section
is pleased to announce

Kim Sport
 as the recipient of the the
 2017 Hannah G. Solomon Award

Monday, October 16, 2017

New Orleans Marriott
555 Canal Street
New Orleans
11:30 a.m. – Cash Bar • 12 Noon – Luncheon
For more information, contact

 Kathy Shepard at


If you would like to make a contribution to the event,
you may pay on PayPal by clicking the Donate button below.

This award is given annually to a volunteer community leader
who exemplifies the qualities of
Hannah G. Solomon, founder of the National Council of Jewish Women.

Kim Sport exemplifies the activist legacy of our founder, Hannah G. Solomon,
through an
undying passion to make the world a better place for the well-being
of children and a strong belief in
women’s health and personal empowerment.
 After retiring from an accomplished and renowned legal
career in 2000, she
 chose to dedicate her time to volunteering. Sport utilized her legal and
persuasive skills
to advocate and raise millions of dollars in the areas of education
 and children’s rights, the health of women
with breast cancer and the
implementation of legislative change in domestic violence issues. NCJW is
 to honor Kim Sport, a woman who has most definitely brought about impactful
social change in our community.

Recipients are individuals who have:
>Brought about important programs and services through
their leadership in a volunteer capacity
> Been a catalyst for social change
> And are known for their interest, activity and stands on
issues with which NCJW is in sympathy

Previous Hannah G. Solomon Award recipients include: Rena Wilson, Margery Stich, Myra Soboloff, Thomas Godchaux, Olga Jackson, Edith Rosenwald Stern, Helen Mervis, Sarah Davis, Edith Schulhofer, Jane K. Buchsbaum, Millie McClendon Charles, Sara Stone, Flo Schornstein, Rosalie Cohen, Roy Schwarz, Barbara Lemann, Rosa F. Keller, Mike Brenner, Norma Freiberg, Sunny Norman, The Honorable Joan B. Armstrong, Elizabeth Rack, The Honorable Miriam Waltzer, Diana Lewis, Grace Hudson, Donald Mintz, Sybil Morial, Julanne Isaacson, Pres Kabacoff, Shirley and Dr. Robert Haspel, Harry Blumenthal, Jr., Eddy Rosen, Hugo Kahn, Marjorie and Roger Bissinger, Barbara Herman, Madalyn Schenk, Babs Isaacson, Melba and Moise Steeg, Jr., Betty Wisdom, Inge Elsas, Carol Good, Phyllis M. Taylor, Carol B.Wise, Nancy Marsiglia, Joan Berenson, Mary Keller Zervigon, Ruth Kullman, Marjorie and Scott Cowen, Julie Schwam Harris, Ana and Juan Gershanik.

Congratulations to new
NCJW Greater New Orleans Section
President Barbara Kaplinsky
and her Board of Directors

 Installed Thursday
, May 11, 2017
at our Closing Event

Special thanks to outgoing President Susan Kierr
for her leadership these last two years.
Welcome to our new officers and board! (pictured below)
Photo courtesy of Linda Friedman


NCJW 120th Birthday Gala Celebration

"A Dozen Decades  of Dedicated Service"

Featuring a tribute to our 120 year history and the women who led us!
Happy Birthday to us!
Photo courtesy of Michael Maples
Past Section and Moonlighters Presidents attending the Gala

Thank you to all Sponsors, Patrons and Donors for their
amazing support of NCJW.
Kudos to Barbara Kaplinsky and Eileen Wallen,
Gala Co-chairs
 and their incredible committee for a spectactular event.
Please see our news page for links to articles about our 120 year history.
Click here for link to news page

Click here to see the tribute on Fox 8 to NCJW 120 years

In 2017, the National Council of Jewish Women celebrates a major milestone,
 a dozen decades of dedicated service in the Greater New Orleans area.

The  glamorous Gala honoring the section and its leaders was
held on the evening of Saturday, April 22nd
 at the Metairie Country Club, and featured a patron party, seated dinner,
tribute to our esteemed past presidents with MC Angela Hill, and
 entertainment by the Yat Pack.


Get Out and Vote!


Your voice. Your vote! 
Make sure you and those you care about are registered to vote!

NCJW is proud to partner
with Rock the Vote.

To register through Rock the Vote, click here

Encourage friends & family
to register today!

To register to vote in Louisiana, 
click this link

Find out more information about voting in Louisiana at

For more information on our advocacy efforts,
please see our advocates website
click here


 NCJW Way - Learning to Lead Announces:
    New Class and Renewed Tolmas Sponsorship    

            NCJW Way
                   Sponsored by the Oscar J Tolmas Charitable Trust

NCJW Greater New Orleans Section is pleased to announce that the 
Oscar J TolmasCharitable Trust  has renewed its sponsorship of the
NCJW Way: Learning to Lead program for 2016-17. Thank you for this continued support.                   


NCJW  Office Hours 

The schedule for the NCJW office is
  Monday,Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday 10 am -3:30 pm


If you  would like to make a donation to NCJW online 

through paypal please click donate below